New City, New Work — No Job. New Adventure!

My new office

My new office

This is the first day of the work portion of a new grand experiment. I’m back to living the questions, done with mindlessly going along with an easy path.

My primary goal right now is to create a livable income independent of a job before the end of the year. Of course, livable here in Thailand is much more achievable: I need about $600 per month for a basic-yet-comfortable living.

I’ve just signed a six-month lease on a beautiful apartment with my girlfriend of two years. If things work out well for us here, I’m hoping that we’ll be able to re-sign the lease at the end of April for another year. For me to feel financially successful by April, I’ll need to be earning $1500 or more per month. That seems big right now, but knowing that others have done it in less than two months, I know it’s very feasible.

My new home

My new home

Other than that, I want to have a good time here. One of my best friends from college (university to you Brits) is here, and he’s introducing me to the freelancer social scene. I also want to get more fit and healthy… I guess that’s about it.

Thanks to http://swediepi.com/ for inspiration in living this freelance life in Chiang Mai and also to http://liveallofyou.com/ for an idea about how to measure the quality of your life: are you living all of your best self?

So, completely soft, that’s the goal for being here: I want to live more of myself.

My new yardsticks

My new yardsticks

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

