Long Day

After a fantastic day off yesterday, I was ready to go. And it’s a good thing, too — this mirror modelling job is due at 12:00 on Friday.

Next time, I’ll need my client to be more specific sooner. The job has morphed quite a lot and overall will have taken about 4 times the original proposed time. I’ll analyze for ideas on how to improve, but I know the problem is that the job grew as we went, moving from the original “just a couple pieces” to an assembly of 8 major components plus additional hardware. The scope wasn’t accurately enough nailed down at the beginning to protect from that, and I haven’t hard lined it at all.

Honestly, right now, satisfied clients mean more than hours, and I’m willing to put in the time for that. But I hope to be at the phase where I can avoid this soon; I don’t relish the though of too many 14 hour days.

And now I need to get back to this design, or I may not get to sleep tonight.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment